Skip to main content

AFPM announces Safety Awards winners

Published by , Senior Editor
Hydrocarbon Engineering,

The American Fuel & Petrochemical Manufacturers (AFPM) has announced the winners of the 2019 Annual Safety Awards, part of an ongoing mission to enhance and recognise outstanding workplace safety.

The awards are part of a comprehensive programme developed by the AFPM Safety and Health Committee to promote safe operations in the refining and petrochemical industries and to recognise facilities with outstanding occupational and process safety records.

“There is nothing more important to the fuel and petrochemical industries than safety. Our member companies go above and beyond requirements to keep our people, communities and facilities safe, and the AFPM Safety Awards recognise their strong commitment to safety and their persistence to improve on their already outstanding records,” said AFPM President and CEO Chet Thompson. “The recipients represent leaders within our industries, and we are pleased to acknowledge these facilities for their excellent safety records, proactive programmes, and impressive safety cultures,” Thompson continued.

The highest honour, the ‘Distinguished Safety Award’, is awarded to the top sites with outstanding safety performance, programme innovation and safety leadership. AFPM has bestowed this honour on a record nine facilities this year for achieving a sustained, exemplary level of safety performance: Chevron Phillips Chemical Co. LP – Borger Plant, ExxonMobil Chemical Co. – Baton Rouge Polyolefins Plant, LyondellBasell Industries – Clinton Complex, Marathon Petroleum Corp. – Martinez Refinery, Phillips 66 – Bayway Refinery, Phillips 66 – Ferndale Refinery, Phillips 66 – Lake Charles Manufacturing Complex, Phillips 66 – Santa Maria Refinery and Phillips 66 – WRB Refining LP - Borger Refinery.

The ‘Elite Gold Award’, which historically on average recognises facilities with safety performances in the top one percentile and that have demonstrated superior and consistent safety performance, programme innovation and leadership, has been given to eight facilities this year: Chevron U.S.A. Inc. – Richmond Refinery, CITGO Petroleum Corp. – Lemont Refinery, ExxonMobil Chemical Co. – Baton Rouge Chemical Plant, ExxonMobil Chemical Co. – Beaumont Polyethylene Plant, Flint Hills Resources LLC – Peru Plant, LyondellBasell Industries – Chocolate Bayou Polymers Facility, LyondellBasell Industries – LaPorte Complex and LyondellBasell Industries – Matagorda Complex.

The ‘Elite Silver Award’, which recognises those sites that have attained top industry safety performance for the application year and demonstrated excellent programme innovation and leadership over time. The award has historically on average recognised the top five percentile of industry safety and was awarded to eight facilities this year: Chevron Phillips Chemical Co. LP – Drilling Specialties Conroe Plant, Chevron Phillips Chemical Co. LP – Orange Plant, ExxonMobil Chemical Co. – Pensacola Specialty Elastomers Plant, ExxonMobil Chemical Co. – Baton Rouge Plastics Plant, LyondellBasell Industries – Corpus Christi Operations, LyondellBasell Industries – Edison Catalyst Manufacturing, LyondellBasell Industries – Victoria Site and Valero Energy Corp. – Wilmington Asphalt Plant.

In addition, to the winners listed above, 24 member companies received 66 Safety Achievement Awards; and 32 associate member companies received 447 Contractor Safety Achievement Awards for their performance in 128 facilities.

Read the article online at:

You might also like

Enerflex and BASF to collaborate in CCUS applications

Enerflex Ltd. (Enerflex) and BASF have entered into a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) to jointly facilitate the commercial scale deployment of carbon capture, utilisation and storage (CCUS) applications.


Embed article link: (copy the HTML code below):


This article has been tagged under the following:

Downstream news