Skip to main content

The 2012 Global Energy Prize is now accepting nominations

Hydrocarbon Engineering,

The Global Energy Prize, one of the world’s most respected awards in energy science, is now accepting nominations for its US$1 million 2012 award. The prize will be presented to the winner by the President of Russia in an official ceremony, which will take place as part of the St Petersburg International Economic Forum, in June 2012.

The Global Energy Prize annually rewards innovation and solutions in global energy research and its concurrent environmental challenges. The degree to which a development contributes to the benefit of humanity is a key driver in deciding the recipient of the prize. The prize has become increasingly important as governments, energy companies and consumers all seek to address existing and projected energy shortfalls.

This year’s winner, Dr. Arthur Rosenfeld, stated that winning enhanced his reputation in Russia, and highlighted the country’s emphasis on modern environmental research.

"My reaction to the news that I had received the Global Energy Prize was a mixture of delight and complete surprise. My reputation among Americans and other Westerners is fairly well established, but I am almost unknown among Russians who have, until President Medvedev, not paid much attention to my chosen field of efficient use of energy. Thus my selection suggests to me a very flexible process in which Russians are putting a new emphasis on modern energy and environmental policies."

Applications are now open and will be accepted through 29 February 2011. Candidates can be nominated only by the highest-rated scientists, such as Nobel Prize laureates for physics or chemistry, past laureates of the Global Energy Prize, and laureates of the Kyoto, Max Planck, Wolf and Balzan prizes.

The winner of the 2012 Prize will be selected by an International Prize Award Committee, which includes 37 internationally-based scientists and specialists, as well as representatives of international research organisations. The award will be given for outstanding achievement in the field of energy, including:

  • Discoveries, inventions and fundamental research providing new opportunities for energy industry development.
  • Development projects, engineering improvements and application-oriented innovations that create new ways of using energy more efficiently.
  • Discoveries, inventions and theoretical R&D projects opening up new energy sources, as well as opportunities for using them.
  • Discoveries, inventions and research, which have resulted in finding breakthrough approaches to addressing energy transmission and energy saving challenges.
  • Discoveries, inventions and research that have materially contributed to ;the solution of environment protection and development problems as well as opened up new and feasible ways of using innovative energy conversion method.
  • Since its inception in 2002, The Global Energy Prize has been granted to 24 scientists from around the globe, including past laureates from the US, the UK, Canada, France, Germany, Iceland, Russia, and Japan.

    The President of the Russian Federation participates in each year’s award ceremony held at the conclusion of a week-long celebration of the awardees’ work, 'Laureates’ Week'. Other world leaders who have supported the prize include the former US President George W. Bush, former British Prime Ministers Tony Blair and Gordon Brown, former French President Jacques Chirac and current Canadian Prime Minister Steven Harper.

    Enquiries regarding nominations should be made by email to:

    Read the article online at:


    Embed article link: (copy the HTML code below):