Skip to main content

IET announce new President

Published by
Hydrocarbon Engineering,

The Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) has announced that Professor Jeremy Watson will become its next President, taking up the position on 1 October.

Jeremy is Professor of Engineering Systems and Vice-Dean in the Faculty of Engineering Sciences at University College London. He is also Chief Scientist and Engineer at BRE. Previously, Jeremy was Chief Scientific Advisor for the Department of Communities and Local Government and Arup's Global Research Director. Jeremy was awarded a CBE in the Queen's 2013 Birthday honours for services to engineering.

A Chartered Engineer, Jeremy’s interests include socio-technical systems, emerging technologies, and strategic innovation processes.

Other appointments taking effect from 1 October include Mike Carr who becomes IET Deputy President.

Until November 2008 Mike was BT’s Chief Science Officer, and responsible for the company’s world leading research labs and commercial exploitation unit. More recently he has been a Council Member of the EPSRC, a Board member of Innovate UK and a previous Vice President of the IET. He currently serves as a Non-Executive Director of Ordnance Survey and for Ploughshare Innovations Ltd.

Meanwhile, Andy Bevington and Virginia Hodge both become IET Vice Presidents.

Bevington has spent his career in the energy sector in a range of engineering, commercial and management roles. He is currently Operated Assets Director for Centrica’s exploration and production business in the UK and the Netherlands, overseeing oil and gas fields in both the North Sea and Morecambe Bay.

Hodge has spent the majority of her career in defence and air traffic management, and has been working at NATS for the last 10 years. She is currently a Senior Project Safety Manager responsible for ensuring that high value projects are operationally safe prior to deployment.

There are also two new Trustees: Professor Alison Noble and Air Marshal Julian Young. All these new appointments form part of the 16 member IET Board of Trustees, the governing body of the organisation.

Adapted from press release by Francesca Brindle

Read the article online at:

You might also like


Embed article link: (copy the HTML code below):