Skip to main content

API concludes Annual Meeting

Hydrocarbon Engineering,

API held its annual meeting on October 18th in Atlanta, Georgia. Leaders representing the oil and natural gas industry convened to review the events of the past year, assess opportunities and industry challenges ahead, and elect new members to its board of directors.

‘While this has been a year of tragedy and many challenges, it has also presented us with an opportunity to further improve and make things better. And we can take pride in the way out industry has stepped up to ensure safe and reliable energy production,’ said Jack Gerard, president and CEO of API. ‘Producing the energy America needs will continue to be our most important commitment.’

Points of note

On Sunday, David J. O’Reilly, retired chief executive officer of Chevron, was awarded the American Petroleum Institute’s highest honour, the Gold Medal of Distinguished Achievement.

The API Board of Directors on Monday elected several new members, including John S. Watson, chairman and chief executive officer of Chevron Corporation, as chairman of API’s board, effective January 1st, 2011. Watson succeeds Devon Energy Executive Chairman Larry Nichols and will lead API for the next two years.

Under Nichols’ guidance, Gerard said, ‘API has been highly effective in the crucial drive to help those who make the nation’s policy understand the importance of developing our own oil and natural gas resources. It is vital and fortunate that we have strong leadership in place to follow Nichols as chairman during this critical time for our industry.’

New members joining Watson on the board will be Jean-Michel Lavergne of Total E&P USA, Joseph Bryant of Cobalt International Energy, Virginia Lazenby of Bretange LLC, Harry Pefanis of Plains All American Pipeline, Douglas Matthews of USS Tubular Products, Steve Chazen of Occidental Petroleum Corporation and Karen Wright of Ariel Corporation.

Read the article online at:


Embed article link: (copy the HTML code below):